## The Bandera PROPHET

May 3, 2024

Medina ISD teachers honored

Contributed Medina ISD

The Medina ISD school board and administration recognized 12 outstanding teachers for their dedication and perseverance in educating students. The recognition, held Monday, April 29, was made possible through the Teacher Incentive Allotment (TIA) program developed by the Texas Education Agency and Texas Tech University.

As stated on the TIA website, "TIA was established with the goal of providing outstanding teachers an accessible pathway to a six-figure salary. Through approved local designation systems, districts can identify and designate outstanding teachers based on student growth and classroom observations."

Medina ISD developed its local designation system three years ago to be able to reward staff for their accomplishments. In the three years of data collection, the district now has 36 percent of the teachers designated for monetary awards bringing in a grand total of \$208,730 in 2024 to be used for teacher compensation.

Through the TIA program, designated teachers earn an allotment of between \$6,558 and \$23,859 for the next five years depending on their designation level.

"This program has been a key factor in our growth at Medina ISD," MISD Superintendent Lindsey Kunz said. "Our teachers have always worked extremely hard to see all their students progress in their education and now they are being recognized for their time and commitment to our district. It is truly an honor to get to see them rewarded."

Being awarded as a recognized teacher for 2024 are Cody Peterson and Mark Coley. Exemplary teachers are Sherri Kelly, Barbara Beltran, Laura Davis and Laura Beauchamp. Rounding out the group earning Master Teacher status are Megan Derry, Nicky Gilliland, Jean Smith, Chelsea McGuff, Jerri Benner and Neita Ashley.